The Baha'í Calendar, also known as the Badi Calendar, first was introduced by the Bab and then was confirmed by Baha'u'llah. It is a solar year that begins with the Spring equinox, usually March 20 or 21, and includes 19 months of 19 days each, plus four or five additional days to bring the total to 365 or 366.

Other features of the Bahá'í Calendar include the following points.

The four or five intercalary days are placed between 18th and 19th month, sometime between from February 25 through March 1 of the Gregorian Calendar. The Gregorian dates will vary each year, but will always be between the 18th and 19th Baha'i months.

The Bahá'í day begins at sunset of the previous day; therefore, a Feast Day or Holy Day that is listed as being on March 21, for instance, actually starts at sundown of March 20 and ends at sundown of March 21.

Each Bahá'í month is named after an attribute of God, such as Glory, Beauty, Names, Power, and others.

Each day has two names, its month name, of the same sequence as that of the months themselves, and its week name, a separate set of names for each of the seven days of the week.

Saturday is the first day of the Bahá'í week.

Feast Home | Invitation Home